In 1929, the Provincial Government undertook to pay interest charges and sinking fund charges on an amount not exceeding 50 p.c. of the capital cost of the construction and erection of equipment required for the generation and transmission of electric energy. The Electrical Power Transmission Act, of 1931, permitted the reorganization of the administration of the Commission by the establishment of a Board vested with additional authority. This Act was amended in 1940 to give the Commission control of its own finances.

The capital invested in the Province by the Commission is approximately \$8,000,000. At the close of the fiscal year 1942 the reserves, as represented by first-class securities, amounted to \$3,482,235.

The Commission enters actively into the appliance merchandising field; it also operates a central steam-heating system and a gas plant at Brandon. As a result of sales and educational policies, together with the economies enforced, the Commission has been able to reduce rates for service progressively and has established a low uniform basic rate for all towns on the network.

Extension of Facilities to Municipalities.—The first municipality to make application for power was Portage la Prairie and the construction of a transmission line from Winnipeg was commenced in the autumn of 1919 and completed in August, 1920. Extensions have been made annually with the exception of 1933 but, since the commencement of the War, these have been limited to essential services such as those built to serve all Army and Air Force Training Centres in rural Manitoba. The system now serves 151 cities, towns and villages, and the transmission network comprises over 2,120 circuit miles of lines, providing service for 20,000 customers.

Power is at present purchased from the Winnipeg Electric Company through substations at Fort Garry and Selkirk for towns on the main network and at East Selkirk, Seven Sisters Falls and St. Boniface for distribution to outlying districts.

Saskatchewan.—The Saskatchewan Power Commission was established in 1929 under the Power Commission Act (R.S.S. 1940, c. 33) which authorized the Commission to manufacture, sell and supply electric energy, to acquire and develop water-power sites, to acquire or construct steam and oil plants, to construct transmission lines, to purchase power and to enter into contracts with municipalities for the supply of energy.

The Commission's main system is centred on its generating plant at Saskatoon. North Battleford and Swift Current also have generating plants owned and operated by the Commission. Electric energy is furnished in bulk to the city corporations, which own and operate their own distribution systems. In the town of Battleford electric energy is supplied by the Commission, in bulk, by transmission line from the Commission's plant at North Battleford. In all the municipal corporations on its system (139 in number) the Commission supplies approximately 11,450 individual consumers directly and 15,413 indirectly. In 1942, 1,560 miles of transmission lines were owned and operated.

During the years 1929 to 1942 the Commission purchased certain generating plants, and constructed and purchased transmission lines and also distributing systems in towns and villages. These were improved, enlarged or supplemented. Particulars of acquisitions and constructions are given at p. 291 of the 1941 Year Book; further details are given at p. 382 of the 1940 Year Book. Acquisitions in 1942 include generating plants and distribution systems at Meadow Lake, Kelvington and Rose Valley.